Get fit in 6 weeks

I joined the gym exactly 2 weeks today, the plan is to get fit in 6 weeks. I’m not sure how much weight to lose but as long as I can fit back into my old clothes that don’t fit me anymore I’ll be happy! It definitely doesn’t come natural to me, this exercise lark, although I never skived off PE when I was at school. I enjoyed all the sports played at school apart from the cross country! Since school I never really exercised, though a few years ago I really got into lindy hopping, I only stopped because it finished late and I had early mornings the next day.

As I’m taking this fitness regime seriously I aim to go to the gym regularly, so far in the 2 weeks I would have gone 7 times. I also went jogging for 3.25km first time around the village on Sunday, my time was 27 minutes. I was very proud of myself as that was the first time running non-stop for over 10 minutes, at the gym I’ve been doing doing 10 minutes each on different machines and then some weight training. I push myself by thinking of the relaxing steam room and jacuzzi afterwards!

For further encouragement I treated myself to some proper running gear, they were a bargain so I don’t feel too guilty! I purchased 2 leggings (I believe the correct name are running tights), 2 tops, 2 packs of running socks, 2 sports bras and an iPhone armband. All of these were on offer and highly discounted plus the majority were buy 2 for x amount, in total I saved around £20! I bought this all in store at Sports Direct.

20140806-223748.jpg
Apparently for running you should wear clothing that are made of that technical breathable fabric because it helps you stay cool, dry and warm.

20140806-223802.jpg

20140806-223819.jpg
Having a little pocket on the back came in handy to store my house key. When you’re running you can’t really bring your usual bunch of keys!

20140806-223835.jpg
This is definitely needed especially if you use a running app to help track the distance and time. Also if you jog alone it’s probably best to be able to stay in contact.