My take on bulgogi!

These past few days I have been craving Korean cuisine as I’ve been addicted to watching Korean Masterchef! It’s really interesting to see what food they come up with and unsurprisingly there’s a lot of Korean and Asian influences! I’ve become less interested in the British version. Last year two Korean ladies I met through work cooked some delicious beef bulgogi (grilled marinated beef) and courgette pancakes (they were like fritters), I was delighted when they gave me their recipe! So today after my back massage appointment I had a look around town and popped into M&S for a few bits to recreate this dish.

On a side note I saw the well known Japanese Kewpie mayonnaise in M&S, still as pricey as the Chinese store though!

20130412-193939.jpg

20130412-193522.jpg
I came away with more than planned so had to buy this cute bag.

Method
Put the rice on and then make the marinade (I adapted this):
2 tbsp soy sauce
1 tbsp sesame oil
1/2 tbsp sugar
1/2 tbsp honey
2 tbsp puréed pear (I used tinned pears in juice and added 2 tbsp of the juice)
1 tbsp rice vinegar (I forgot to put in photo)
1 inch fresh ginger
1/2 fresh chilli
1/2 tsp chilli flakes
Salt (only a little) & pepper
(I left out garlic as I didn’t have any)

20130412-195843.jpg

Next, follow the step-by-step photos (Bulgogi is usually made of beef but I’m using pork this time):

20130412-200037.jpg

20130412-200045.jpg

After cooking for about 10 minutes until meat is cooked through, you’ll have something looking like this (I found some green beans in the fridge so added these for colour and vitamin C & K):

20130412-200052.jpg

Now enjoy!
It’ll be nice to know if you make this dish, so feel free to leave me a comment or email. 🙂

Leave a Reply

