Baked Doughnuts!

This is my first time making doughnuts! I wasn’t exactly craving them, I was more intrigued in making a baked doughnut rather than the well known and highly fattening deep fried version.

20121030-201557.jpg
My first attempt at making doughnuts!

I found a recipe by Tracey at sugarcrafter.net. I changed the quantities a little as I had to convert it from US cup measurements and I used vanilla bean paste as well as the extract. I also made them far to big which meant I had to leave them in the oven longer and the holes closed up! Next time I’ll have to make sure the inside hole is cut larger, I used an upside down large piping nozzle! When I got them out of the oven I thought they looked like the bagels I’ve made in the past! But don’t despair if they look ugly, it’s amazing how the sugar transforms them into appetising lumps of dough! They’re also light and fluffy, but I was told they could do with some jam in the middle. Obviously if yours have holes you can’t inject them with jam.

20121030-202103.jpg

Here’s my tweaked version:

Makes: 7 massive doughnuts, prep time: 20 minutes, plus 1 hour proving and 20 resting. Cook time: 20 minutes if they are big, 10 mins if they aren’t!

INGREDIENTS:
For the doughnuts:
1 egg
55g caster sugar [was originally granulated]
240ml cup milk, heated to in microwave for 1min (lukewarm)
1 tablespoon active dry yeast (7g sachet)
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 teaspoon vanilla bean paste [was originally only extract]
250g bread flour, plus more for kneading
110g soft butter, cut into cubes

For the cinnamon-sugar coating:
50g butter, melted [was originally 110g]
100g plus a teaspoon of ground cinnamon [was originally 220g granulated sugar + 2 tablespoons cinnamon]

DIRECTIONS:
1. In the bowl of your stand mixer with the paddle attachment, beat the egg and sugar on medium speed for about 1 minute. Add in the milk, yeast, salt, and vanilla. Turn the mixer to low, and then add in 250g of the flour. Attach the dough hook and then on medium speed, add the butter one piece at a time until smooth. Reduce the speed to low, and then start adding the extra flour (I didn’t measure this, but it was around 100-150g) until the dough sticks to the hook and pulls away from the sides of the bowl. It should be soft and moist, but not sticky.

2. Turn the dough out on to a lightly floured surface and knead until smooth. Place in a mixing bowl coated with cooking spray and cover with a damp towel. Let rise until doubled in volume, about 1 hour.

3. Punch down the dough and roll it out to about ½” thickness. With biscuit cutters, cut out 3″ circles with 1″ holes. Preheat the oven to 200 degrees C. On a baking tray lined with parchment paper, place the doughnuts 1″ apart. Cover with plastic wrap and let sit on top of the preheating oven until almost doubled in size, about 20 minutes.

4. Bake until light golden in colour, 20 minutes. Dip the hot doughnuts in the melted butter and then coat with the cinnamon-sugar mixture.

Tracey says to serve immediately; doughnuts are best eaten the same day they are made.

I’ll be interested to hear if you make them!

One thought on “Baked Doughnuts!

Leave a Reply

