Food in Berlin Part l

As you all know I really enjoy eating so here is a post on the food I sampled in Berlin!

The very first thing I tried in Berlin was Hazelnut ice cream from Bandy Brooks, I ordered one scoop in a sugar cone (€1.90). Ever since Italy I have always favoured Hazelnut, I can’t get enough of it, the ice cream here is just as good.

ImageThis is me with zero sleep and no make-up.

We also sampled Berlin’s most famous street food, currywurst and pommes frites (curry sausage and chips). You can get this everywhere around Berlin and it’s very popular with everyone, from grandmas to businessmen and tourists! The price is around €3-5 for a paper bowl of currywurst and pommes frites, they charge extra for mayo. They cut the sausage and then sprinkle curry spices and flavourings on top then squirt a load of ketchup mix on top and then serve with chips. If you order mayo they dollop it on top. I’m not keen on this dolloping, I’d much prefer them serve it on the side! This is a very tasty but unhealthy snack so we shared it!

Image

We got quite into frozen yoghurts since we discovered Wonderpots beneath the railway arches on Georgenstraße street. The shop is very alluring with it’s lovely interior and relaxed decor, I was drawn in by the big comfy sofa and the snazzy counter. We ordered a medium pot with 3 toppings that cost €4.50. There’s only one flavour yoghurt (plain) and many toppings. We ate there twice, the first time we have mango puree, blueberry and sugar coated nuts. I thought the nuts were going to be the kind we get in the UK from the ice cream van, but these were coated in sugar and didn’t taste nutty at all. The second time I enjoyed the toppings much more. I ordered fresh mango, watermelon pieces and crunchy muesli. If I lived in Berlin this place would definitely be my regular. I love that you can relax here, they even have magazines and board games! We had a game of connect 4 and bf won because I wasn’t paying attention.ImageImageImage

ImageImageImageImageImageImage

Leave a Reply

