Back from Berlin

I haven’t had a holiday with bf since Brussels and I think that was in 2009. Finally we were able to go away for a few days and I picked Berlin. We’re not the type that enjoy beach holidays, though I have never been on any, I just don’t enjoy basking in the sun and heat for a long period of time. I don’t want my face to turn into a prune when I’m old. I enjoy city breaks where you get to sample local cuisine, see architecture and shops etc. I also enjoy browsing foreign supermarkets!?

One main reason I wanted to go to Berlin was to check out the vintage stores and markets, plus I’m fascinated with the past divide of East and West and wanted to see any glimpses of the past. I really enjoyed Berlin, it has a nice relaxed atmosphere though I found the city to be vast and there were construction sites nearly everywhere we turned, so definitely not a pretty city like Paris or Amsterdam. The cafes/restaurants/shops/markets that I marked to visit were so spread out that the majority of them had only that establishment in that street. Maybe that’s why so many Berliners ride a bicycle. Although some areas didn’t look all that clean with lots of posters and graffiti I felt safe, but maybe we never were in any rough neighbourhoods? We tried local street food such as the currywurst & pomme frites and Turkish kebabs. There’s a lot of Vietnamese immigrants in Berlin so there was an abundance of Vietnamese cafes and restaurants. Most seems very popular, we tried out a restaurant Ho Vang and I ordered Pho Bo (My go to Vietnamese dish) and bf had Chilli Chicken Lemongrass with rice. Both dishes were very flavoursome but I was disappointed with the waitress failing to understand what Hoisin sauce was and then at the end of the meal I saw rows of the stuff on the counter! I had even demonstrated to her how to put it on the Pho Bo in the hope it would jog her memory!

Anyway here are some pics of day 1:

Friedrichstraße

Wooden toy shop

Tourists

Outside hotel

Ho Vang Vietnamese Restaurant (this came to roughly £16 including soft drinks)

The famous Mustafa’s kebab stall

Giant me half asleep (been up for nearly 48 hrs!)

2 thoughts on “Back from Berlin

Leave a Reply

