Crocheting Granny Squares

During my break I’ve been crocheting mad, I ended up start three projects; a cushion and two hats. I’ve completed the two hats, one was for bf and the other for myself. The cushion is half complete, I’ve finished the 36 squares for the front and have nearly joined them all together, I just need to make the back. Instead of an all white back I’m going to do a rainbow effect with different colours, this is because I’m out of the white wool!

20120418-200945.jpg

20120418-201027.jpg

20120418-201105.jpg

20120418-201129.jpg

If you fancy making yourself some crochet granny squares I’ve written how to make it below.

Instructions are in US terms as I found it easier to search online for help when I got stuck!

You need wool and a crochet hook (I used whatever wool I had but made sure the thickness were roughly the same! The crochet hook size was 4mm)

Start: Chain (ch) 4 and join into first chain then do a slip stitch (sl st) to form a ring.

Colour A Round 1: Ch 3, do 2 double crochets (dc) in ring, ch 3, * 3 dc in ring, ch3. Repeat from * 2 more times. Join into first chain by doing a sl st
Cut wool and knot.

Colour B Round 2: Join wool in one of the corner holes by doing a slip knot in wool and holding it in corner, hold tight and ch 3, work 2 dc, ch 2, 2 dc, ch 3. * ch 1, work 3 dc, ch 2 and 3 dc in next ch-3 space (sp)
Repeat from *2 more times, end ch 1, join with sl st in 3rd of ch 3.
Cut wool and knot.

Colour C Round 3: Join wool in one of the corner holes by doing a slip knot in wool and holding it in corner, hold tight and ch 3, 2 dc, ch 2, 2 dc. * ch 1, 3 dc in next ch-1 sp, ch 1, ** work 3 dc, ch 2 and 3 dc in next ch-3 sp(corner). Rep from * twice and then lastly from * to **, join with sl st in 3rd of ch 3.

Make 36!

Join together pieces. I did this by putting right sides together and crocheting along the edge.

5 thoughts on “Crocheting Granny Squares

    • I found it quite addictive but maybe it’s because I only had to make 36! I might attempt a blanket but I have a patchwork quilt to finish! Quite unmotivated about getting out the sewing machine.

      • I’m the opposite – I’m happy with my sewing machine but having just made a crochet bag and some booties, I’m unmotivated about getting out the crochet hooks! 😀

  1. I think it’s because I like sitting comfy on my sofa with the tv on whilst crocheting. It’s too much effort setting up the sewing machine, plus I don’t know why I decided to make a quilt out of triangles! O_o

  2. Thank you for some other informative site. The place else
    may I get that kind of info written in such an ideal manner?
    I’ve a venture that I am simply now working on, and I have been at the glance out for such info.

Leave a Reply

